S.J.A.Turney's Books & More

Reviews, news and inside the world of books.

Legionary

with 13 comments

So I promised a review of a book I was reading, and here it is:

Legionary. Well, let’s just say I gave it 5 stars on Amazon. Here’s snippets of what I said there and in a mail to the author too:

I have no hesitation in recommending this to lovers of Roman military fiction, and indeed anyone else who enjoys a great tale. The book actually interested me a lot more than I expected, particularly due to the setting. I am a fan of Roman history and have a good grounding in the subject, but mostly in the late Republic and Principate era.

This book, however, is set during the dusk of traditional Rome, in the late 4th century, with the Emperor Valens, Comitatensis troops, bishops, Goths, Constantinople and the Black Sea region. I recently became interested in this era after visiting Istanbul and ‘Legionary’ just expanded on that, dragging me in.

The plot is complex and extremely well-constructed, far more neatly than I realised at first, with twists and cliffhangers. The settings are beautifully described and leave the reader with a well-presented view. The characters are believable, interesting and appropriately sympathetic or loatheful. Strong, readable characters, fantastic place descriptive and a plot that rivals any hist fic I’ve read and surpasses many.

I’m so impressed with his handling of the different ethnic groups. The huns, the goths in their various varieties, greek and egyptian types and Romans. Names, customs, descriptions, all so good. The Hun punishments, so graphic they made me shudder.

Buy it. If you’ve a Kindle, or anything you can view kindle books on (such as a PC or iPhone), buy it now. If not, or you’re more attuned to the feel of whispery paper between your fingers (like me) I believe Gordon’s in the process of releasing a paperback version, so keep your eyes open and get it when it’s out. You really won’t be disappointed (especially you, Jules!)

So there you go:

Written by SJAT

May 6, 2011 at 1:35 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG!! HOORAY AND HUZZAH! I am so pleased for you both. Now I REALLY have to make my way across the pond.

    Like

    bluesleepy

    May 6, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    • Got the spare room ready whenever you get the chance!

      Like

      SJAT

      May 11, 2011 at 2:19 pm

  2. Woo! Congratulations!

    Like

    linguafranca

    May 6, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    • Gluttons for glorious punishment eh?

      Like

      SJAT

      May 11, 2011 at 2:19 pm

  3. Wonderful news….Now that you two figured out how to make a baby…..you have another. I know you will be loving this new bundle of joy just as much as you do your current little boy.

    Sorry you have another of those annoying long lingering colds….hope all of you feel much better soon.

    Like

    Terri T.

    May 6, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    • We were asked why we were having another and I told the person that it was because there was nothing on TV but reality shows and soap operas!

      Like

      SJAT

      May 11, 2011 at 2:20 pm

  4. Another baby! How glorious! Yay!

    Like

    Poolie

    May 7, 2011 at 1:25 am

    • Wonder how Marcus is going to feel about being an older brother?

      Like

      SJAT

      May 11, 2011 at 2:21 pm

  5. Congratulations on the new bun in the oven!

    I just love your descriptions of the noises the new ladybird toy makes, I’m sure Marcus is thinking to himself, “Yes! I love that sound! Just like a cat mid-castration! And that one is just like Dad this last week when he blows his nose and farts instead!” Or maybe not.

    Like

    Rosie

    May 7, 2011 at 2:16 am

    • Hahahahaha. Curiously, I have noticed a certain tonal harmony between my battered sinuses and the ladybird!

      Like

      SJAT

      May 11, 2011 at 2:22 pm

  6. Oh Si, that’s wonderful news! Another little Turney. I hope Wifey is feeing better. Sure hope you get over your annual round of diseases soon. Although they are very entertaining to hear about. Keeping an eye on Amazon for Dark Empress and now Legionary. Once again, congratulations to you both! Jules

    Like

    Red Sonja

    May 7, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    • Thanks Jules. I suspect that at times I am held together by a very fine balance of dimetrically opposed illnesses!

      Like

      SJAT

      May 11, 2011 at 2:23 pm

  7. Wow! Just getting caught up here and YAY!!! Congrats! ~LA

    Like

    LA

    May 11, 2011 at 10:20 pm


Leave a Reply

