S.J.A. Turney's Books & More

Reviews, news and inside the world of books.

Tales of the Empire

with 6 comments

tote image

Tales of the Empire – a series of Historical Fantasy novels with a flavour of late Rome

The Tales of the Empire are closely-linked yet standalone novels of low historical fantasy, realistic and gritty and heavily flavoured with late antiquity.

  • Interregnum is an epic novel of the death and rebirth of an Empire and the redemption of a once-great mercenary captain.
  • Ironroot is a military whoddunit set some twenty years after the events of Interregnum.
  • Dark Empress is a tale of siblings thrown apart and back together in the fractured, dangerous world of a collapsed Empire.
  • Insurgency follows the  descendents of the characters of Interregnum when a new grave danger threatens the empire.
  • Emperor’s Bane is a novella that tells the side tale of a character from Insurgency as something of a prequel.
  • Invasion follows the exploits of three officers as they lead an invasion of a distant island, beset by intrigues and turmoil.
  • Jade Empire closes the series with a climactic clash between two great empires and the sons of a native prince who become caught up in it.

The books are available in 9×6 paperback format from Amazon or CreateSpace and in various e-Formats, including Amazon’s kindle, the Kobo, iTunes and Nook, and from Smashwords

Check out the reviews of:

Interregnum on Fantasy Book Review

Ironroot on Fantasy Book Critic

Dark Empress by Parmenion Books

Insurgency by Hoover Book Reviews

Emperor’s Bane by Mihir on Goodreads

Invasion by Hoover Book Reviews

Jade Empire by Hoover Book Reviews


Written by SJAT

May 30, 2013 at 1:31 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i bought interregnum this year and have just read the first three chapters,is this a full novel on a smaller bit of work of a few years ago.
    it is so similar to the smaller piece i read please tell me i am wrong, i love the marius mules books what a character Fronto is


    Chris Forrest

    November 7, 2018 at 7:25 pm

    • Hi Chris. Not sure what you mean here. Interregnum was written and released originally back in 2009. It’s been rereleased a few times with new covers, but it’s still the same book. It’s the first novel in the Tales of the Empire. Can you tell me what this smaller piece you read was? Interregnum is a long book and now 9 years old.




      November 7, 2018 at 9:10 pm

      • i was a little confused as my copy was released in 2016 since i left my message to yourself i searched my archives
        and guess what i found the novel sincere apologies in wasting your time .i have just purchased the 1st in the templar series cant wait (i still am missing Fronto)
        kind regards

        Liked by 1 person

        Chris Forrest

        November 8, 2018 at 7:36 pm

      • Hi Chris. Hope you enjoy Templar. Second one comes out shortly too. Am I to understand you bought Interregnum twice?



        November 8, 2018 at 8:37 pm

      • yes would you like a copy He He,You said in a previous blog there will be 15 MM,s is that still the case



        November 9, 2018 at 10:27 am

      • Ha. Yes there will still be 15 MMs. 4 to go and the plots are all lined up ready. The final scene of book 15 is already written. Has been for about 6 years! Do you read on an ereader?

        Liked by 1 person


        November 9, 2018 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: